The Worst Movie You’ve Ever Seen

In my Creative Writing class, we begin many days with a journal prompt. These are casual, opinionated 5-minute exercises that are typically connected to the days topic, somehow, and that (hopefully) spark some creative thinking before working on longer pieces.

I’ve learned an array of random information from these exercises, like that I have a student that owns a 120-pound bulldog (allegedly) and that some students would rather eat a cooked squirrel than a banana (seriously).

Today’s topic was “What is the worst movie (or book, or TV show) you’ve ever seen? What made you dislike it so much?”

I never realized how that comparing movies could cause such intense arguments.

One student said that her least favorite was Space Jam, a response that nearly caused me and my students to start a riot. I was more than a little obsessed with Space Jam growing up. I was into The Looney Tunes (for obvious reasons–but let’s just say I took my last name a bit too far and possessed a jean jacket with a massive “Looney Tunes” patch on the back), and basketball. Combining the cartoon characters and the miraculous Michael Jordan was, in my mind, the best match since Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen.

There were a range of hated picks, including a few that were other’s favorites like The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Paranormal Activity, and Jersey Shore. However, my favorite hated pick was one from a student named Caleb. The movie was called Rubber, which was a movie about a killer tire. The premise of that was too bad to not play the trailer in class immediately. Please watch this trailer to enjoy how terrifically terrible it is:

What is the worst movie you’ve ever seen?

One thought on “The Worst Movie You’ve Ever Seen

  1. Not the worst movie ever, but last night I let “Don Juan DeMarco” play while I took care of stuff around the apartment. Ho-man that was bad. REAL bad.

Leave a Reply

