From Chocolate Cake to Carrots

The summer before 7th grade, I ate a slice of chocolate cake almost every day for breakfast. My mom would actually buy a sheet cake from Sara Lee and freeze the pieces individually so that I could do this.

If you’ve ever met my mom, this is probably only slightly surprising.We have enough food in my house to feed a professional football team for an entire year.

The days I didn’t eat chocolate cake were “nutritious”…that is, by comparison. I would melt peanut butter and chocolate chips in the microwave and then either eat it plain or put it on a bagel.

I was under the impression that peanut butter = protein = healthy. Always. Regardless of whether it is blended with a cup’s worth of chocolate chips. This also was the reason why I would pop Reese’s like they were vitamins.

The main reason why I ate these delicious (and far from nutritious) breakfasts? These were only 2 of the around 10 foods I would actually eat. My other main “food groups” were chicken fingers, pizza, ice cream, and pasta.

Luckily, I was a fan of fruit. Even luckier, I was a fan of fitness.

I did eat vegetables sometimes. I “liked” carrots. The only reason why I ate carrots were because I was told that doing so would turn my hair curly. Am I the only one who was gullible enough to actually believe this?

Suddenly, my pickiness went away. At some point during college, I started to make regular stops at the salad bar and liked it. I actually found eggs edible (I used to shiver just thinking about scrambled eggs). I was willing to eat any Chinese food (not just my former loves—anything that was deep fried and had a crispy coating that completely concealed whatever was underneath).

I still did make a daily (er, 2-3) trip(s) to the all-you-can-eat ice cream bar. I added a scoop of peanut butter every time as well, because, yes, I was still convinced peanut butter is healthy when mixed with anything. I may still tell myself this.

Were you a picky eater? Are you still a picky eater, or will you eat anything?

2 thoughts on “From Chocolate Cake to Carrots

  1. I’m not so sure I could feed an entire football team for a year…well, maybe if you invade the cabinets, etc… it would be possible! By the way, when is the last time you had a slice of that Sara Lee cake?

Leave a Reply

