FALLing Forward

Fall has always been my favorite season. I didn’t always admit this to myself. When you’re in grade school, everyone says their favorite season is summer. This is mostly because there is no school. The other reason this is that when you are asked to draw a photo of your favorite season in elementary school, it is extremely easy to draw a pool and stick figures with shorts and t-shirts. A tree with falling leaves and a raincoat takes a little more effort.

Although I haven’t confessed my love for fall forever, I am now assured that it is my season. Here are a few things I’m excited about the fall:

1.) Pumpkin Spice Lattes from Starbucks. I have an extreme issue when it comes to these. I once drank two in a day and had a long streak of several a week.  For a little while, I conned myself into believing these were healthy and inexpensive. Pumpkins are a vegetable, after all. And whipped cream is like milk! Clearly, the nutritious value is worth the $5 price tag.

2.) Crunchy leaves. I have a weird obsession with stepping on crunchy leaves. I get excited just thinking about running through them. I am surely aware this is strange.

3.) Being able to wear almost anything. I love shorts, and it is still socially acceptable to wear them. It is also perfectly acceptable to wear pants, sweatshirts, or almost anything other than a swimsuit.

4.) Halloween. I love Halloween [As long as it doesn’t end in unfortunate situations like this]. I always have high hopes of having a creative costume. However, I always end up going to the store the night of to throw something together. I never mind this much, because Halloween is the best people watching day of the year.

5.) Football season. Although Football is not my favorite sport (basketball is), I love a good rivalry more than anything. The Hawkeye/Cyclone rivalry in Iowa is so intense that you can’t help but get sucked in. I’ve now lived in Iowa for 6 years (how did THAT happen?!) and my interest grows every year. My Hawkeye purchases always increase, too, which probably is a slight problem.

6.) The running weather. I love, love, love running in the fall. I have absolutely no chance of fever or frostbite, and feel like I could go forever.

7.) Going back to school. Ever since I was little, I’ve loved the start of a new school year. As a teacher, I’m even more excited. I’ve always been ready to have my lunch packed up and my boots tied tight a few weeks early. Luckily, I’ve never been in a fight.

What is your favorite season? What are some things you’re excited for this Fall?

Leave a Reply

