Sleep?

When I’m short on time, sleep is always the first thing that I sacrifice.

It’s not that I’m against sleep. I love the idea of sleep. Sleep and I just have a permanently “complicated” relationship status. There are a few reasons why this is:

1.) I love coffee. I could drink a pot without pausing. However, I also realize that students are still practically asleep until 3rd period. I already am a morning person. On too much caffeine, I’m similar to a Saturday Night Live Spartan cheerleader.

2.) I have to get up to go to the bathroom at least once every night—usually twice. I’ve tried to avoid this by drinking less water, but can’t. I am always thirsty. I probably drink over 100 ounces of water per day and still have to get up in the middle of the night.

3.) I’m almost incapable of saying “no.” If I’m asked to do dinner/drinks/a movie/anything other than sitting in a traffic jam, I’ll say “Sure!” Even if that means that I’ll sleep less than most moms during their newborn’s first weeks.

4.) I almost always wake up before my alarm—even if I set my alarm for 4:45AM. If I get up early, I go for a run (partially because it prevents me from purchasing things on infomercials at this hour). However, I recently realized that these runs are not typically coherent (possibly since I go coffee-less?). I actually got lost last week about two miles away from my apartment. That should not be surprising.

Are you a good sleeper? How can I squeeze in a few more hours of shut eye?

2 thoughts on “Sleep?

  1. Pingback: Why I’m a Runner « It's as Easy as 1-2-3

Leave a Reply

