Happy Things

I see the glass half-full. My favorite color is yellow. Although I’m a teacher, I am currently completely incapable of an angry “teacher face.” My current “angry” expression just looks like a mixture of confusion and that I’ve have smelled something bad. I do not have road rage (although, this is mostly because I realize I am the reason for other drivers’ road rage). I also used to listen to Bobby McFerrin’s “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” on repeat. Never road trip with me.

Basically, I’m a happy person and it takes alot to make me angry. However, there are some things that make me so happy that I’d likely bust out the Brady Bunch’s “Sunshine Day” on repeat…not like I’ve ever done that. The following are random things that make me as happy as Marcia (besides of course, when she was hit with a football):

1.) Mail. I love cards, letters, or magazines the most…but, truly, anything with my name on it makes me happy. I even get a bit excited when I receive a bill.

2.) Peanut butter. Most people who know me know that I am obsessed. Leaving a jar around me is dangerous, since I eat peanut butter straight out of the jar like others snack on a bag of tortilla chips.

3.) Flowers/Candles.  I may love stores like Target mostly because of my grocery shopping addiction, but I also love it for another perk. I’m able to stand and smell the candles in the home aisle.

4.) Ice Cream. I won’t buy half gallons of ice cream because it will be gone within 2 days. My sister Jamie and I have a lifelong goal to finish an entire half gallon in one sitting. I know we can accomplish this. I also know that no one will want to be present when this happens.

5.) Mornings. I love, love, love mornings. I try to keep this contained, as I realize that the majority of people my age want to put a sledgehammer to their alarm clock daily. In reality, I’m as ready to rise as Mr. Rogers.

6.) Getting beeped at. When I’m walking or running, I always like being greeted with a friendly beep from a friend. If’s not a friend, well, at least it’s entertaining. Of course, I don’t like being beeped at when I’m behind the wheel. This has, unfortunately, happened to me far too frequently and that beep is never favorable. People aren’t exactly beeping at you to say “Wow! You are driving wonderfully!”, right?

6.) Exclamation points. I already devoted an entire post to this punctuation. However, I love the perky punctuation so much that it deserves to be recognized once again (!!).

What are some random things that make you happy? 

Leave a Reply

