Summer Resolutions

For the first time since I was 16, I will not be working over the summer. On one hand, this makes me excited. This means that I have plenty of time to soak up the sun without a set schedule. However, on the other hand, this also means…

I have plenty of time to spend without a set schedule.

I am the type of person who has trouble just doing “nothing.” I may be just a little bit of a multi-tasker. Unless I’m texting. My grandma is more skilled than me at texting and talking at the same time (seriously). Someone could be speaking to me about how I won a lifelong supply of peanut butter while I’m texting and they would maybe get an “Uh huh.”

With too much spare time, my grocery shopping addiction means that there is a strong likelihood that I could create my own peanut butter pantry.

However, landing a job for 8 weeks in between the school years isn’t really an option since I’m going on 2-3 vacations (with many mini-road trips all over the Midwest too). I’m an awful liar, and can’t imagine getting an OK when asking the following questions:

ME: “Can I get the next week off to go to Daytona Beach? Oh, yeah, and possibly the week after that to go to California? And then, two weeks after that, 5 days off to go to Country Thunder?”

Since the likelihood of these questions being successful is slim, I’ve instead decided to give myself some summer “goals” to keep me on track. Here are a few things I have set out to do:

1.) Organize all of my photos. I have over 5,000 pictures on my iPhoto—which are all without an album. A promise to my friends: I promise to probably not post the (many, many) incriminating photos that I have already found buried in my collection on Facebook.

2.) Train to run a (speedier) half-marathon. I ran a half-marathon last summer, but would like to run one faster when I run one again this fall. I considered running another full marathon, but I’m not quite ready for having handicapped hardships post-race again.

3.) Learn yoga. The last time I posted about this, I ditched Downward dogs the next day. I’ve decided to make my summer goal of touching my toes a little less lofty: I’d like to accomplish touching my ankles.

4.) Plan my next year’s classes. I have received my schedule for next year for my first official year of teaching! I have alot of work to do, and, since I’m teaching high school, I’m hoping that I’ll also be able to work out a little summer growth spurt too.

5.) Read. This is actually one of my favorite summer activities (I am an English teacher, after all!) I love reading outside over the summer, and, of course, love the added benefits of the sun—yes, dad, with sunscreen.

6.) Have many “happy” hours. Yes, that does have multiple meanings.

What are some other goals I should set, or, what are some of your great summer goals (that I can then steal)?

Leave a Reply

