TGIF: TV Talk

TGIF.

For anyone who works, this is one of the most important acronyms you’ll ever encounter. However, if you grew up in the 90s, you knew the phrase “TGIF” far before you substituted your weekday briefcases for weekend adult beverages.

In case you missed the 90s, “TGIF” was ABC’s line-up of Friday night TV. In the days when you couldn’t stay out after 8, there was nothing better than tuning in to watch people who could. I was obsessed with TGIF, and wished the acronym could also be TGIS, TGIM, TGIT…you get the picture…because of the following four shows:

1.) Saved by the Bell. I was beyond obsessed with the high schoolers at Bayside. I owned an entire line of “Saved by the Bell” bath products, watched every single episode at least 5 times, and thought that mullets were cool because A.C. Slater supported one.

2.) Full House. My obsession with “Saved by the Bell” didn’t even compare to “Full House.” I thought that I was going to marry Uncle Jesse someday, even though he was at least 20 years older than me and, yes, also had a mullet. But, more importantly, it starred Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen, who were my role models. I owned every single MK and A video (and also practiced singing songs like this one with my sisters—yes, we also dressed up).

3.) Boy Meets World. I had a huge crush on Corey. I also wanted Topanga’s long hair desperately (and, for a brief bit, her name). Like Mr. Feeney, I followed the cast through college (how does he happen to get a job at every school they’re at, anyway?!).

4.) Sabrina the Teenage Witch. For a little while, I wanted nothing more than to be a witch. I wasn’t naive enough (shockingly) to think that they were real. However, Sabrina had magical powers that could make her cat talk and get the Backstreet Boys to come to her school for a concert. As a 90s pre-teen, I couldn’t think of a better combination.

Did you watch TGIF? What were your favorite shows?

One thought on “TGIF: TV Talk

  1. Pingback: The Worst Movie You’ve Ever Seen « It's as Easy as 1-2-3

Leave a Reply

