Word Nerd

I love words (minus a select few). I love words ALMOST as much as I love one particular punctuation. There simply is nothing as excellent as the exclamation point (!!).

My love of words is usually to my advantage. I never have to be persuaded to read…with the exception of anything involving science, step-by-step directions, or anything that includes the mere mention of a tool. I love to write…with the exception of anything involving science, step-by-step directions, and anything that includes the mere mention of a tool (although I can’t imagine anyone asking a person who still can’t distinguish a Phillips from a flathead such a request).

However, my love of linguistics has recently become a little ridiculous. I have become obsessed with playing “Words with Friends” and “WordFeud” on my phone. This wouldn’t be quite a problem, except for the fact that my phone goes from fully charged to battery-less by the end of the day. My plan periods have gone from future preparation to (hopes of) future domination.

A battery-less phone does not bode well for someone who gets lost nearly every day. It also is not pleasant for a professional procrastinator like me. I’m going to be starting taking over 9th grade soon, and my newfound hobby will not help grading 150+ papers.

When I was younger, I used to be obsessed with becoming a tremendous typist. I swapped Sega for “Typing with Mavis Beacon” and would click at my keyboard until I beat a record. I don’t know of many other kids who heard “You need to stop typing and get to bed!”

Do you like word games? How can I prevent myself from procrastination?

 

One thought on “Word Nerd

Leave a Reply

