Fright Fest

Skittish (adj.) extremely nervous and easily frightened; shy or timid; extremely cautious; unstable, undependable.

I love Vocabulary. I receive a Dictionary.com word of the day. My students? They don’t exactly enjoy workin’ it with Webster.

To make vocabulary a little more interesting, I relate it back to the students. This is typically a win-win because 1.) The students love sharing information about themselves and 2.) I can find out many awkward anecdotes.

Today, one of the words was skittish. As usual, I asked my students: What are some things that make you skittish? Unfortunately, no one revealed any crazy fears—the typical spiders, snakes, heights, roller coasters, etc.

My fears? They’re a bit more strange.

I’ve never thought of myself as a skittish person. I would do almost anything on a dare. I would love to try bungee jumping or skydiving. I rode roller coasters the second I reached the height limit. Spiders, sharks, and snakes don’t scare me in the slightest. Bees don’t bother me a bit.

I’m skittish about slightly ridiculous things.

1.) Getting stuck in an elevator . I think this fear began when Mrs. Belding got trapped in an elevator while giving birth on “Saved by the Bell” [Surprise, surprise].

2.) Locking my keys in my car. The odds of this happening seem slim. Unfortunately, I’ve done this before—with the car running. Luckily, my sisters were 1.5 miles away and could unlock it for me. What if this were to happen on the highway? My story would probably turn into a Lifetime Original Movie.

3.) Falling off the second floor at a mall. I’ve been terrified of this ever since I watched Clueless. I’ll ride a roller coaster with my hands up, but wish I could be buckled inside a mall balcony.

What strange things make you skittish?

Leave a Reply

