Cell Phone Clutter

I recently decided to examine my cell phone contacts.

Upon doing so, I realized that quite a few fall into one of the following categories:

1.) Have met the person at a concert/bar and have titled that person accordingly (aka “Joey Oyster Pub”). If I didn’t bother to get their last name [which is usually for a reason] and can’t recall what they look like, chances are we are not destined for a lifelong friendship.

2.)Have worked on an assignment/project with them once, and have only called them once during that time. I don’t forsee any Freshman year Ethics class reunions in the future.

3.) Are co-workers who I traded numbers with strictly for emergencies. I can’t imagine myself calling “Cindy,” the ex-cheerleader I worked with who was about as outgoing as Oscar the Grouch.

4.) Is someone who I’m pretty certain miraculously made his or her way into my phone.

The problem? I can’t seem to part with any of these people. My philosophy of “you’ll never know when you need it” [which also applies to clothing, elementary school papers, half-torn ticket stubs and sheets of paper from street vendors], refuses to allow me to rid myself of cell phone clutter.

How do you know when it’s time to cut the conversational cord?

2 thoughts on “Cell Phone Clutter

  1. It’s hard to delete those numbers! But, the one good thought is that if you do delete the numbers, there’s a pretty good chance if you needed it for some reason, you’d find someone who has it 🙂

  2. I know what you mean! I still have way too many names in my phone, mostly names that I could call to get a hold of you! Oh, you can delete that x-cheerleader… Ha!

Leave a Reply

