Manic Multi-Tasker

I cannot focus on a single task at a time. I eat and text while I catching up on TV shows. I write portions of a paper, read a magazine and listen to music while I run on the treadmill.  I hate painting my nails because I have to wait for polish to dry before doing something else. I have zero polish patience, however, which is why my nails always look I paid a three-year-old boy to paint them.

I love going to the movies (and am WAY too obsessed with TV), but find it so difficult to shut down to focus on a single thing. It’s not that I feel guilty for being unproductive. I just can’t get myself to completely zone out, which results in me interrogating my co-watcher about the plot. As if I didn’t ask enough questions already.

I’ve always been a multi-tasker. During my freshman year of high school, I ran Track, played club basketball, did tumbling and was in a whole bunch of other activities during the same season. My life was chaotic, but it didn’t drive me crazy. I loved racing from track to tumbling to basketball every Thursday (of course, my legs always didn’t)!

I sometimes wish I could just stick to one thing. I want to be one of those people who can sit at a table and eat—sans paper, phone or the delightful company of Matt Lauer.

Leave a Reply

