Wake-Up Call

I woke up at 5:59 AM today. Willingly. Without an alarm clock. I would normally round that off and say I woke up at 6:00AM, but I’ve always believed that the 5 o’clock hour is only when insane people rise. Which I am fully aware I will be me one day.

I tossed and turned for a half hour, and realized sleep just wasn’t happening. The culprit? I had Starbucks at 9:ooPM last night. The barista said it was Decaf. I beg to differ. So I decided to do the only thing that I know how to do at that insanely early hour: Run.

The problem? I forgot that it was actually below zero. And dark. A deadly duo. I realized within 5 seconds of stepping outside that my decision was insane. But, unfortunately, my stubbornness would not allow me to turn around.

I came back from my run looking like I spent 5 hours in the Sahari without SPF. But it was worth the windburn. I ran 5.5 miles, but it felt like it took only 5 minutes. As sane people slept, I received a little Sociology lesson: Friendly people are much more common outside the hours of 9 to 5. It may have been sub-zero, but every single person I met on the roads greeted me with a smile.

The same, of course, can be said for evening hours. When you go to the bars at night, you’ll be hard-pressed to find someone frowning. [Unless, of course, they just suffered something traumatic—i.e. a breakup, diss, or the depressive effects of alcohol from starting drinking way too early].

I know I won’t become a permanent AM convert. I like sleep too much—and warmth. But it made me wonder: Why not start an occasional day before Sunrise?

[Note: I highly recommend starting days before Sunrise in the Summer, Spring, or Fall. Freezing eyelashes should be limited to Mr. Freeze.]

Leave a Reply

