That’s one secret I’ll never tell…

I love drama. I steer clear of it in my personal life, but I love living a vicarious dramatic life. Don’t get me wrong: I certainly don’t wish extreme drama on any of my family or friends, but I am transfixed by acquaintance crises or spectacles involving strangers. Therefore, I do enjoy In Touch and People with sad regularity.

I know that it really doesn’t matter what kind of pizzas Octomom purchased for her plethora of nannies, what the Gosselin kids think of their rebellious potential stepmother Hailey, or whether Kristin Cavallari will actually end up with Justin Bobby. But I can’t help it: I’m curious about celebrities. I don’t get a daily dose, but I’m certainly willing to push their 15 minutes of fame a bit further.

I try to limit my dose of drama. After all, I enjoy reading and watching things that actually matter as well. Yet these past two days, my meager indulgence has turned into an overdose. Like many addictions, it began as a curiousity. I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. So I indulged, thinking I’d watch a single show and then scrap it. Boy, was I wrong. For a drama devotee, Gossip Girl is a dangerous drug. I should have probably stayed abstinent, but my curiousity got the best of me.

I have now watched 11 episodes in the past two days. In the spirit of the season, I wish I could have at least gone the ’12 days of Christmas’ route and limited myself to an episode a day. I’m almost hoping the series takes a serious nosedive, because this could be extremely problematic during Finals. DARE may have preached the dangers of drug addiction, but what I really needed was advice on overcoming a drama addiction.

Leave a Reply

