Growth without Change

Ok, so I know I already posted once today. Perhaps it’s because my Foundations presentation tomorrow is on Accountability, but I need this blog to hold me to this goal.

Like everyone else, I was incessently asked “What do you want to be when you grow up?” when I was in Elementary school. And, also like everyone else, I thought that it would never change. But let’s be honest, unless you’re Tiger Woods and getting par and potty trained simultaneously, that goal likely changes. After all, I bet you can’t find a single kid that dreams of being an Insurance Agent or Actuary when they grow up.

Until recently, my goal was (somewhat) spot on: I wanted to be a writer. Of course, my third grade self thought more about writing books than magazine blurbs, but I gauged my goal pretty well. Now, as you all know, I’m an aspiring teacher. But, for some reason, I can’t forgo my novel-writing fantasies.

So I’m doing it. I truly believe in one of my favorite Walt Disney quotes: “All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.” At 22, I’ve merely scratched the surface of my lifelong list. But I’m ready to make a dent. I started writing an Adolescent Literature novel last year. I’ve written 57 pages, which is up about 15 pages from this time last year. Of course, the additional length is solely thanks to the larger size font and typeface (swapping for 14 point Ariel does wonders!).

Sure, I could let this goal slide by for a few years. But if I have the courage to write this goal down, I have the courage to pursue it. I may never get published, but I’ll never know if I don’t try.

Leave a Reply

