It’s funny how it’s the little things in life…

To quote Zach Brown Band: “It’s funny how it’s the little things in life that mean the most: It’s not where you live, what you drive or the price tag on your clothes. There’s no dollar sign on a piece of mind this I’ve come to know.”

Yes, I actually just quoted lyrics from the song “Chicken Fried.”

But regardless of whether you love or loathe country music, the lyrics are true. Or at least, in my opinion, you should begin to think so. When it comes down to it, small things can be pretty significant. For example, these are seemingly “little things” recently that have made me happy—perhaps a bit overly so:

  • Eating onions without actually tasting them all day…and the next day…and the day after that. I may actually be able to stop ordering sans onions just because of the smelly after-effect! Bring on the Onion Rings!
  • Realizing that my PB Loco was somehow voided on my receipt. Cha-ching! I know, I probably should have told the cashier. But $5.99 for a jar of peanut butter is overpriced anyway, right? My taste buds trump my wallet when it comes to PB.
  • Getting a free issue of Cosmo, via a special email offer. Apparently, anything gratis is the key to my heart.
  • Having Harry ask me to turn our daily shared PB (no crust, no jelly) sandwich into two hearts. He had told me the time I watched him before that he loved me, so that made it that much sweeter.
  • Simply hearing the Uncle Kracker song “Smile” on the radio. It’s a sure-fire way to make me smile every time. And, to quote the ever-so-quotable Elf, “Smiling’s my favorite.”
Leave a Reply

