Gotta find the balance, tryin’ to find the balance

Tonight at church, the priest advocated the importance of finding balance in your lives. I ardently adhere to this advice. Always have.

Oftentimes, perhaps too much so.

Take weekends, for example. Throughout the past four years I’ve been a college student, I probably haven’t gone out a handful of weekends. Even when my schedule is stacked, I say sayonara to studying for a night or two to hang out with my friends.

I realize that not all people agree—and I have absolutely no issue with that. But for me, I’ve always felt that I’m more alert during the week when I give the books a bit of a break during the weekend.

This quote by Tom Petty sums up my opinion pretty well:

“You have four years to be irresponsible here. Relax. Work is for people with jobs. You’ll never remember class time, but you’ll remember time you wasted hanging out with your friends. So, stay out late. Go out on a Tuesday with your friends when you have a paper due Wednesday. Spend money you don’t have. Drink ’til sunrise. The work never ends, but college does.””

This doesn’t mean that you have to adhere to his whole advice. Not everyone has to have a weekly ‘Last Dance with Mary Jane’ to live up their college years. In my mind, it’s simple: Do what makes you happy. Which is likely not studying 24/7. We all have responsbilities, but we don’t want to leave college and enter the workforce with a bucket list of regrets.

Leave a Reply

